Nari Shakti Puraskar


Every year, Ministry of Women & Child Development celebrates International Women Day on 8th March. The significance of the International Women’s Day lies in our re-affirmation of improve the condition of women, especially those at the margins of our society and empower them to take rightful place in society. 20 Nari Shakti Puruskars shall be conferred every year. The awards will be conferred on 8th March on the occasion of International Women’s Day (IWD). The Award in each category shall carry a Certificate and a cash amount. The award would be given to eminent or outstanding Institutions or organizations and individuals.

There are other schemes as well related to women development:

Women Scientists Scheme
Nai Roshni- The Scheme for Leadership Development of Minority Women
Working Women Hostel
Support to Training and Employment Programme for Women


The Puruskars are open to all Indian Institutions, organisations and individuals without any distinction or discrimination on ground of race, caste or creed.
In case of Individual category, the awardee must be above 30 years of age on 1st January of the year for which the award is to be given. The applicant should have worked in the relevant field for at least last 5 years. She should not have been a recipient earlier of the award (including Stree Shakti Puruskars).
You can read about the eligibility criteria for each of the category of Awards by downloading  the PDF document .


The Award in each category shall carry a Certificate and a cash amount. To read more about the nature of award for each category, you can download the PDF document on the link here .

Mode of Application

For inviting the applications for the Awards, an advertisement will be published by the Ministry of Women and Child Development, Govt. of India in Newspapers across the country. The Ministry will write to all the State Governments, Union Territory Administrations, concernedCentral Ministries/Departments.

The information will be simultaneously placed on  the official website .

Check Eligibility

Check your eligibility for the scheme

Click here to know