National Means-cum-Merit Scholarship Scheme 2019


The scholarship was launched in 2008 and is targeted towards providing assistance to meritorious students of economically weaker sections to promote secondary education among them.

There are other Scholarship Schemes as well:

Jawahar Lal Nehru Memorial Fund scholarship
National Scheme of Incentive to Girls for Secondary Education
UDAAN-CBSE Scholarship Program
Pre-Matric Scholarship to the SC Students studying in classes IX & X


Students whose parental income from all sources is not more than Rs. 1,50,000/- are eligible to avail the scholarships. There is reservation as per State Government norms.
-The students shall have minimum of 55% marks or equivalent grade in Class VII examination for appearing in selection test for award of scholarship (Relaxable by 5% for SC/ST).
-The students should be studying as regular student in government, local body and government-aided schools. The students studying in “Kendriya Vidyalaya and “Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalayas” are not entitled to get scholarship under this scheme. Similarly, those students studying in Residential Schools run by the State Government Institutions, where facilities like boarding, lodging and education are provided and students studying in private schools are also not eligible for the scholarship under this scheme.
At the time of selection for the award of scholarship, the candidate must have scored at least 55% marks or equivalent grade in Class VIII examination. There will be 5% relaxation for SC/ST.
The scholarship at the Secondary and higher Secondary stage or equivalent Classes IX to XII is payable for a maximum period of four years for studies in India only.

Click here to Check Your Eligibility.


Scholarship of Rs. 6000/- per annum (Rs.500/- per month) per student is awarded to selected students every year for study in classes from IX to XII in State Government, Government aided and local body schools.
These scholarships will be provided quarterly to the students studying as regular students in class IX in government, local body and government-aided schools. The scholarships will be paid from class IX till class XII for a maximum period of four years.

Mode of Application

The States/UTs are already conducting the examination for nominating the students for the national level (second stage) examination conducted by the NCERT. The same examination shall be used for selection of candidates for the award of Means-cum-Merit Scholarships in States/UTs.

You can apply online on the National Scholarship Portal here by clicking on the link for Department of School Education and Literacy. You can also download the scheme guidelines by clicking on

Check Eligibility

Check your eligibility for the scheme

Click here to know